Tags

, , , , , , ,

Valentine’s Day may be over but that doesn’t mean that my love for all things heart-shaped has disappeared! These adorable heart-shaped jello bites looked too sweet not to try so I quickly whipped them up this weekend! As I’ve mentioned before raspberries are my favorite fruit, so even though the recipe called for strawberry jello I substituted raspberry. I also decided to use a smaller heart cookie cutter so they would be bite size. To be honest, I can’t remember the last time I had jello so making these really took me back to my childhood; there’s just something about jello that makes me feel like a kid again! Bottom line, they’re irresistibly adorable and fun to make!

In a large bowl mix 2 cups of boiling water with jello.

Stir until dissolved.

Spray baking pan (I used two smaller pans) with cooking spray.

Pour jello into pans and refrigerate until firm.

In a large bowl pour 1/2 cup of cold water and sprinkle gelatin over top. Allow to stand for 1 minute.

Stir in 1 1/2 cups of boiling water and condensed milk; mix and allow to cool.

Remove jello from fridge and cut into cute shapes. Reposition shapes in lined pan (I used wax paper because I figured it would be easy to lift it out of the pan and cut into pieces).

Pour milk mixture around hearts until flush with the top of the jello; refrigerate until firm.

Remove, cut into squares and serve.

Original recipe from The Hungry Housewife

